a blue and white logo

The Coworkaholic’s Guide to Marriott Rewards

As of August 2018, Marriott Rewards is now one of the largest hotel loyalty programs now that the merger of SPG is complete. Members of the program now have access to more than 5,700 hotels and 1.1 million rooms in over 110 countries across the globe. Marriott Rewards points can be transferred to airline frequent flyer programs, redeemed for gift cards or experiences, or used to cover other travel experiences.

Marriott Rewards Hotel Brands

The Marriott Rewards program encompasses 29 brands across price points, from low-end, budget-friendly properties, to luxurious getaways around the world. The brands participating in the Marriott Rewards program are:

  • AC Hotels
  • Aloft Hotels
  • Autograph Collection Hotels
  • Courtyard by Marriott
  • Delta Hotels
  • Design Hotels
  • Edition Hotels
  • Element Hotels
  • Fairfield by Marriott
  • Four Points by Sheraton
  • Gaylord Hotels
  • JW Marriott
  • Le Méridien Hotels & Resorts
  • The Luxury Collection
  • Marriott
  • Marriott Executive Apartments
  • Marriott Vacation Club
  • Moxy Hotels
  • Protea Hotels
  • Renaissance Hotels
  • Residence Inn by Marriott
  • The Ritz-Carlton
  • Sheraton Hotels and Resorts
  • Springhill Suites by Marriott
  • St. Regis Hotels & Resorts
  • TownePlace Suites by Marriott
  • Tribute Portfolio
  • W Hotels Worldwide
  • Westin Hotels & Resorts

Marriott Rewards Elite Status Levels

There are five elite levels guests can reach with the Marriott Rewards program: Silver, Gold and three levels of Platinum.

  • Silver Elite status: Silver Elite status is reached after 10 qualifying nights. Benefits include a 10% points bonus from stays, priority late checkout and a dedicated elite reservations line.
  • Gold Elite status: Gold Elite status is earned after staying 25 nights in a year. Benefits include a 25% points bonus from stays, 2 p.m. priority late checkout based on availability, in-hotel welcome gift of extra points, and enhanced room upgrade based on availability.
  • Platinum Elite status: Platinum Elite status is earned after staying 50 nights in one year. Platinum Elite members receive a 50% points bonus from stays, 4 p.m. priority late checkout, and an in-hotel welcome gift of extra points, a breakfast offering at participating hotels or a welcome amenity. Platinum Elite members also get an annual one-time Choice Benefit upon qualification. At the hotel, elites at this level get lounge access, as well as a guaranteed room type, along with enhanced room upgrades — including select suites — at check-in if available.
  • Platinum Premier Elite status: Platinum Elite members can reach Platinum Premier Elite after staying 75 nights in a single year. In addition to all of the Platinum Elite benefits, Platinum Premier Elite members also receive a second Choice Benefit selection upon qualification and a 48-hour room guarantee.
  • Platinum Premier Elite Ambassador status: For the most loyal customers, who spend at least 100 nights at Marriott properties a year and over $20,000 in qualifying spend at hotels, Marriott offers a third tier of Platinum Elite status. In addition to all the benefits of Platinum Elite and Platinum Premier Elite, members also receive Ambassador Service and Your24 concierge services before and during stays with Marriott Rewards.

Marriott Rewards Lifetime Status Benefits

In addition to yearly acknowledgment, guests who earn loyalty year after year can earn lifetime status with Marriott Rewards. Three lifetime tiers are available, based on how many years of status one earns and lifetime nights stayed.

Lifetime Silver Elite status: 250 lifetime nights and five years of any elite status

  • Points never expire.
  • All Silver Elite benefits for life.

Lifetime Gold Elite status: 400 lifetime nights and seven years of Gold Elite status or higher

  • Points never expire.
  • All Gold Elite benefits for life.

Lifetime Platinum Elite status: 600 lifetime nights and 10 years of Platinum Elite status 

  • Points never expire.
  • All Platinum Elite benefits for life.

Like the other statuses, Lifetime Platinum Premier Elite status will grant all of the benefits from the elite tier for life, and points won’t expire. But starting Jan. 1, 2019, it will not be possible to qualify for Lifetime Platinum Premier Elite status.

Earning Marriott Rewards Points

You can directly earn Marriott Rewards points with these co-branded credit cards:

Marriott Rewards Premier Plus Credit Card from Chase

  • 6X points for every $1 spent at participating Marriott and SPG hotels
  • 2X points for all other eligible purchases

Marriott Rewards Premier Plus Business Credit Card from Chase

  • 5X points at participating Marriott Rewards and SPG hotels
  • 2X points at restaurants, car rental agencies and office supply stores, on airline tickets purchased directly from the airline, or internet, cable and phone services
  • 1 point per dollar spent on everything else

Starwood Preferred Guest® Credit Card from American Express

  • 6X points for every $1 spent at participating Marriott and SPG hotels
  • 2X points for all other eligible purchases

Starwood Preferred Guest® Business Credit Card from American Express

  • 6X points for every $1 spent at participating Marriott and SPG hotels
  • 4X points at U.S. restaurants and U.S. gas stations, on wireless telephone services purchased directly from U.S. service providers and on U.S. purchases for shipping
  • 2X points on all other eligible purchases

The Starwood Preferred Guest® Luxury Credit Card from American Express

  • 6X points for every $1 spent at Marriott and SPG hotels
  • 3X points for every $1 spent at U.S. restaurants and on flights booked directly with airlines
  • 2X points for every $1 spent on all other purchases
0 0 votes
Article Rating